Installing Oracle E-Business Suite (EBS) 12.1 on a netbook or laptop

Hi All. Today I’m gonna share my experience on installing Oracle EBS 12.1 in my netbook. My netbook is a Lenovo Ideapad S110 with Intel Atom CPU and 4 GB of RAM. It came with a 2GB RAM as its standard, however I upgraded it to 4GB of RAM some time ago.

My netbook runs on Windows 7 Operating System. The installation went successfully, however note that Oracle forms simply do not work for Oracle EBS 12.1 running on Windows 7 environment (it keeps failing with FRM-92101 error). I spent several days to make it work, but it simply don’t. There is a lot of people is having the same problem, a lot of post in the Internet on how to fix it, but none of them is working. I tried almost everything mentioned in those posts, improvised in my own way, but still could not make it work. So I simply decided to go with another way, to install Oracle EBS 12.1 for Linux, which does not have this problem. Oracle simply does not support Oracle EBS 12.1 running on Windows 7. However, during my research to make it work, I learned that on Windows Server 2003 environment, there is an Oracle patch to make it work. The installation steps should be the same with what I’m about to share here. That’s the reason I’m still sharing this installation steps with you all. Or if you just want to play around with non Oracle forms application in Oracle EBS (the web version), you can go ahead with the installation on Windows 7. But note that most of Oracle EBS transactions running on Oracle forms application.

Oracle EBS 12.1 that I installed runs on top of Oracle 11g which came in the installation package. I did the installation on January 2016.

oracle-ebs-installation

oracle-ebs-first-page

2 thoughts on “Installing Oracle E-Business Suite (EBS) 12.1 on a netbook or laptop

  1. Mohammed

    Assalamu Aleikum Brother,

    I tried every thing what I could find with Google but I still can not install Oracle 12c Enterprise on my Trekstor SurfBook W2 with Intel Atom CPU. Oracle universal installer Shows that is not possible to read the path environment variable or the path is too lang and I have to short it.
    I did every thing with this path(both user and system) variable and I tried with different user privileges but nothing work. Now I try to learn SQL and PL/SQL with the Oracle Express Edition untill I find a solution for the Problem.
    Sorry my English is very bad.
    Thank you Brother for your help
    Assalamu Aleikum

    Mohammed

    Like

Leave a comment